Death By Penis; A Bondage Fairies review 19.04.2014

I initially found myself feeling rather rusty and old among the rather teenage energetic crowd. I wasn’t sure what to expect from the crowd or the venue, having never visited the club “Plan B” before. I was not only surprised, but delighted at end of the night!

The first opening band, whose named I do not recall, reminded me of an early Franz Ferdinand. The lead singer even resembled the Franz-lead singer Alex Kapranos. The tunes were catchy but quite recycled 2005-ish. Only a few people in the front rows seemed really into them.

The second opening band sounded like a combination of hip-hop and dubstep which left quite a sour taste in my mouth, and it wasn’t the 3rd Kamikaze cocktail I had drunk either. The audience really enjoyed the aggressive energy and big beats and moshed pretty hard. I chose to hang back at the bar and where it was safe.

Bondage Fairies, while not widely known, seem to have gained quite a cult following in Russia. No wonder as they embarked on their Russian tour of 14 cities, including Moscow. The merch table included 3 kinds of T-shirts, buttons, their latest CD and vinyl, and 4 kinds of printed bags with the Bondage Fairies slogan “Death by Penis.” I couldn’t help but purchase one of these hilarious bags.

cff857a2c87111e3ab5d0002c99c9ec6_8

The Fairies hit off the concert with “Pink-Eye Paranoia” from their 2006 album “What You Didn’t Know When You Hired Me.” Majority of the set list had featured songs from “What You Didn’t Know..”  In total, over 20 songs were played to which people danced, jumped, moshed, and generally went nuts for.
My favourites included “Levenus Supremus,” “Appeltysken,” and “Morphine” which created the most energetic response from the audience. The song which surprised me most had been “Gay Wedding” and the amount of positive energy that poured from the crowd as people sang and screamed along. The encore included “He-Man,” and gig was concluded with the crowd-demanded “1-0.”

IMAG1788

Sweating in my new goth boots, I too had myself quite a workout jumping and dancing. The positive energy of the crowd had been truly intoxicating. I left the club feeling exhausted and collapsed into my bed shortly after arriving home. What a perfect way to welcome spring in Moscow!

One response to “Death By Penis; A Bondage Fairies review 19.04.2014

  • Earnest

    You post interesting content here. Your blog deserves much more visitors.
    It can go viral if you give it initial boost, i know useful service that can help you,
    just type in google: svetsern traffic tips

Leave a Reply

